EPA - NPDES Contacts
Skip common site navigation and headers
United States Environmental Protection Agency
National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES)
Begin Hierarchical Links EPA Home > OW Home > OWM Home > NPDES Home > NPDES Permit Program Basics > Contacts End Hierarchical Links
Applications
 
eNOI
 
Permitted Universe and Backlog Reduction
 
State Program Information
 
Statutes and Regulations
 
Tools for Permit Writers
 
Water Quality and Technology-Based Permitting
 
Integrated Municipal Plans
 
Emerging Topics
 
 
 
NPDES Permit Program Basics Home

 

NPDES Topics Alphabetical Index Glossary About NPDES

NPDES Permit Program Basics
State Contacts

STATE AGENCY CONTACTS


ALABAMA

Glenda Dean (gld@adem.state.al.us)
Water Division Chief
Alabama Department of Environmental Management
PO Box 301463
1400 Coliseum Blvd
Montgomery, AL 36130-1463
Phone: (334) 271-7823  


ALASKA

Dan Easton (dan_easton@dec.state.ak.us)
Director
Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation / Division of Water
410 Willoughby Ave
Suite 303
Juneau, AK 99801-1795
Phone: (907) 465-5175  

Mike Lidgard (lidgard.michael@epa.gov)
Manager
US EPA, Region 10 (Permitting Authority for Alaska)
1200 6th Ave, Suite 900
Seattle, WA 98101-1128
Phone: (206) 553-1755  
Fax: (206) 553-0165


ARIZONA

Daniel Czecholinski (dc5@azdeq.gov)
CHMM Manager & Biosolids Coordinator
Arizona Department of Environmental Quality / Water Quality Compliance Assurance Unit
1110 West Washington St.
Mail Code: 5415B-1
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Phone: (602) 771-4612  
Fax: (602) 771-4505

Marnie Greenbie (mxg@azdeq.gov )
Manager
Arizona Department of Environmental Quality / Water Quality Division / AZPDES Individual Permits
1110 West Washington St.
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Phone: (602) 771-4689  


ARKANSAS

Steven Drown (drown@adeq.state.ar.us)
Chief
Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality / Water Division
5301 Northshore Dr
North Little Rock, AR 72118-5317
Phone: (501) 682-0655  
Fax: (501) 682-0880


CALIFORNIA

Regional Water Board 7: John Carmona (john.carmona@waterboards.ca.gov)
Colorado River Regional Water Quality Control Board
73-720 Fred Waring Drive, Suite 100
Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone: (760) 340-4521  

Regional Water Board 1: Mona Dougherty (mona.dougherty@waterboards.ca.gov)
North Coast Regional Water Quality Control Board
5550 Skylane Blvd., Suite A
Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1072
Phone: (707) 570-3761  

Greg Gearheart (stormwater@waterboards.ca.gov)
Stormwater - Industrial / Construction
California State Water Resources Control Board / Division of Water Quality
1001 I St Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 341-5892  
Fax: (916) 341-5543

Regional Water Board 4: David Hung (david.hung@waterboards.ca.gov)
Los Angeles Regional Water Quality Control Board
320 W. Fourth Street, Suite 200
Los Angeles, CA 90013
Phone: (213) 576-6616  

Philip Isorena (pisorena@waterboards.ca.gov)
Wastewater
California State Water Resources Control Board / Division of Water Quality
1001 I St Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 341-5544  
Fax: (916) 341-5443

John Menke (jmenke@waterboards.ca.gov)
California State Water Resources Control Board / Division of Water Quality
1001 I St Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 341-5587  

Regional Water Board 5: Diana Messina (diana.messina@waterboards.ca.gov)
Central Valley Regional Water Quality Control Board
11020 Sun Center Drive, #200
Rancho Cordova, CA 95670-6114
Phone: (916) 464-4828  

Regional Water Board 9: Ben Neill (ben.neill@waterboards.ca.gov)
San Diego Regional Water Quality Control Board
9174 Sky Park Court, Suite 100
San Diego, CA 92123-4340
Phone: (858) 467-2983  

Russell Norman, P.E. (russell.norman@waterboards.ca.gov)
California State Water Resources Control Board / Division of Water Quality
1001 I St Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 323-5598  
Fax: (916) 341-5463

Walt Shannon (stormwater@waterboards.ca.gov)
Stormwater - Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems (MS4s)
California State Water Resources Control Board / Division of Water Quality
1001 I St Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 341-5497  
Fax: (916) 341-5543

Regional Water Board 3: Sheila Soderberg (sheila.soderberg@waterboards.ca.gov)
Central Coast Regional Water Quality Control Board
895 Aerovista Place, Suite 101
San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone: (805) 549-3592  

Regional Water Board 8: Gary Stewart (gary.stewart@waterboards.ca.gov)
Santa Ana Regional Water Quality Control Board
3737 Main Street, Suite 500
Riverside, CA 92501-3348
Phone: (951) 782-4379  

Regional Water Board 2: Lila Tang (lila.tang@waterboards.ca.gov)
San Francisco Bay Regional Water Quality Control Board
1515 Clay Street, Suite 1400
Oakland, CA 94612
Phone: (510) 622-2425  

Regional Water Board 6: Robert Tucker (robert.tucker@waterboards.ca.gov)
Lahontan RWQCB Regional Water Quality Control Board
South Lake Tahoe Office
2501 Lake Tahoe Blvd.
South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone: (530) 542-5467  


CONNECTICUT

Arthur Mauger (art.mauger@po.state.ct.us)
Environmental Engineer
Connecticut Department of Environmental Protection / Water Management Bureau
79 Elm St.
Hartford, CT 06106-5127
Phone: (860) 424-3829  


DELAWARE

R. Peder Hansen (peder.hansen@state.de.us)
Manager
Delaware Department of Natural Resources & Environmental Control / Division of Water
89 Kings Hwy
Dover, DE 19901
Phone: (302) 739-9946  


DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Jerusalem Bekele (jerusalem.bekele@dc.gov)
District of Columbia Department of Health / Environmental Health Administration / Water Quality Division
51 N St NE
5th Floor
Washington, DC 20002
Phone: (202) 535-1603  

Paula Estornell (estornell.paula@epa.gov)
US EPA, Region 03 (Permitting Authority for DC)
1650 Arch St
Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone: (215) 814-5632  
Fax: (215) 814-2301

Robert Koroncai (koroncai.robert@epa.gov)
Chief
US EPA, Region 03 (Permitting Authority for DC)
1650 Arch St
(3WP10)
Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone: (215) 814-5730  
Fax: (215) 814-2301


FLORIDA

Elsa Potts, P.E. (elsa.potts@dep.state.fl.us)
Florida Department of Environmental Protection / Division of Water Resource Management
Twin Towers Office Building
2600 Blair Stone Rd.
Tallahassee, FL 32399-2400
Phone: (850) 245-8664  


GEORGIA

Jamila Norman (jamila.norman@dnr.state.ga.us)
Industrial Wastewater Unit Pretreatment Coordinator
Georgia Environmental Protection Division / Water Protection Branch
4220 International Pkwy, Suite 101
Atlanta, GA 30354
Phone: (404) 675-1687  

Sam Shepherd (sam.shepherd@dnr.state.ga.us)
Municipal Permitting Unit #1 Manager
Wastewater Regulatory Program
Georgia Environmental Protection Division / Water Protection Branch
4220 International Pkwy, Suite 101
Atlanta, GA 30354
Phone: (404) 362-2680  
Fax: (404) 362-2691

Gigi Steele (gigi.steele@dnr.state.ga.us)
Municipal Permitting Unit #2 Acting Manager
Wastewater Regulatory Program
Georgia Environmental Protection Division / Water Protection Branch
4220 International Pkwy, Suite 101
Atlanta, GA 30354
Phone: (404) 362-4916  


GUAM

Fred M. Castro
Administrator
Guam Environmental Protection Agency / Complex Unit D-107
IT&E Harmon Plaza
130 Rojas St
Harmon, GU 96911
Phone: (671) 646-8863  
Phone 2: Country code: 001

Doug Eberhardt (eberhardt.doug@epa.gov)
Chief
US EPA, Region 09
75 Hawthorne St
San Francisco, CA 94105-3901
Phone: (415) 972-3420  
Fax: (415) 947-3545


HAWAII

Denis Lau, P.E. (dlau@eha.health.state.hi.us)
Chief
Hawaii Department of Health / Environmental Management Division / Clean Water Branch
919 Ala Moana Blvd
Rm 301
Honolulu, HI 96814-4920
Phone: (808) 586-4352  
Fax: (808) 586-4352


IDAHO

Mike Lidgard (lidgard.michael@epa.gov)
Manager
US EPA, Region 10 (Permitting Authority for Idaho)
1200 6th Ave, Suite 900
Seattle, WA 98101-1128
Phone: (206) 553-1755  
Fax: (206) 553-0165


INDIANA

Paul Higginbotham
Chief
Indiana Department of Environmental Management / Office of Water Quality / Permitting Branch
100 North Senate Avenue
MC 65-42 IGCN 1255
Indianapolis, IN 46204-2251
Phone: (317) 232-8631  
Fax: (317) 232-8637


IOWA

Angela Chen (angela.chen@dnr.state.ia.us)
NPDES Supervisor
Iowa Department of Natural Resources / Wastewater Permits
900 E Grand Ave
Des Moines, IA 50319-0034
Phone: (515) 281-4736  


KANSAS

Mike Tate, P.E. (mtate@kdhe.state.ks.us)
Section Chief
Kansas Department of Health & Environment / Bureau of Water
1000 SW Jackson St
Suite 420
Topeka, KS 66612-1367
Phone: (785) 296-5504  


KENTUCKY

Larry Sowder (larry.sowder@ky.gov)
Kentucky Department for Environmental Protection / Division of Water
200 Fair Oaks Lane, 4th Floor
Frankfort, KY 40601
Phone: (502) 564-3410  


LOUISIANA

Lenny Young (lenny.young@la.gov)
Administrator
Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality
605 North 5th St
PO Box 4313
Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4313
Phone: (225) 219-3013  
Fax: (225) 219-3309


MAINE

Brian Kavanah (brian.w.kavanah@maine.gov)
Director
Maine Department of Environmental Protection / Bureau of Land and Water Quality / Division of Water Resource Regulations
17 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333
Phone: (207) 287-7700  


MARYLAND

Edwal Stone (estone@mde.state.md.us)
Division Chief
Maryland Department of the Environment / Water Management Administration / Wastewater Permits Program
1800 Washington Blvd
Baltimore, MD 21230-1708
Phone: (410) 537-3661  


MASSACHUSETTS

Glenn Haas
Director
Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection / Division of Watershed Management
One Winter St
Boston, MA 02108
Phone: (617) 292-5748  


MICHIGAN

Phil Argiroff
Permits Section Chief
Michigan Department of Environmental Quality / Water Resource Division
PO Box 30273
Lansing, MI 48909-7773
Phone: (517) 241-1341  


MINNESOTA

Rod Massey
Manager
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency / Water Quality Division
520 Lafayette Rd N
St. Paul, MN 55155
Phone: (612) 296-7202  


MISSISSIPPI

Jerry Cain (jerry_cain@deq.state.ms.us)
Chief
Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality / Office of Pollution Control
PO Box 10385
Jackson, MS 39289-0385
Phone: (601) 961-5102  
Fax: (601) 961-5703


MISSOURI

Curt Gateley (curtis.gateley@dnr.mo.gov)
Chief, NPDES Permits
Missouri Department of Natural Resources
1101 Riverside Drive
PO Box 176
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176
Phone: (573) 526-1155  
Fax: (573) 522-9920


NEBRASKA

Mike Linder (mike.linder@nebraska.gov)
Director
Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality
1200 N St, The Atrium, Suite 400
PO Box 98922
Lincoln, NE 68509-8922
Phone: (402) 471-0275  
Fax: (402) 471-2909


NEVADA

Alexi Lanza (alanza@ndep.nv.gov)
Staff Engineer
Nevada Division of Environmental Protection / Bureau of Water Pollution Control
901 S Stewart St
Suite 4001
Carson City, NV 89701
Phone: (775) 687-9468  
Fax: (775) 687-4684

E. Alan Tinney (atinney@ndep.nv.gov)
Supervisor
Nevada Division of Environmental Protection / Bureau of Water Pollution Control / Permitting Branch
333 W Nye Ln
Suite 129
Carson City, NV 89706-0851
Phone: (775) 687-9414  


NEW HAMPSHIRE

George Berlandi (gberlandi@des.state.nh.us)
Water and Waste Permit Division
New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services / Wastewater Engineering Bureau (for local information)
29 Hazen Dr.
PO Box 95
Concord, NH 03302-0095
Phone: (603) 271-2458  
Fax: (603) 271-4128


NEW JERSEY

Jeffrey Reading (jeffrey.reading@dep.state.nj.us)
Assistant Director
New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection / Division of Water Quality / Watershed Permitting
401 E State St
PO Box 029 (CN-029)
Trenton, NJ 08625-0029
Phone: (609) 292-9977  


NEW MEXICO

Marcy Leavitt (marcy_leavitt@nmenv.state.nm.us)
Chief
New Mexico Environment Department / Surface Water Quality Bureau
PO Box 26110
1190 Saint Francis Dr, Rm N-2050
Santa Fe, NM 87502-6110
Phone: (505) 827-2795  
Fax: (505) 827-0160


NEW YORK

Richard Draper (redraper@gw.dec.state.ny.us)
Director
New York Department of Environmental Conservation / Division of Water / Bureau of Water Permits
625 Broadway
Albany, NY 12233-3505
Phone: (518) 402-8251  


NORTH DAKOTA

Dennis Fewless (dfewless@nd.gov)
Director, Division of Water Quality
North Dakota Department of Health / Division of Water Quality
918 E. Divide Ave.
4th Floor
Bismarck, ND 58501-1947
Phone: (701) 328-5215  
Fax: (701) 328-5200

Dave Glatt (dglatt@nd.gov)
Chief
North Dakota Department of Health / Environmental Health Section
918 E. Divide Ave.
4th Floor
Bismarck, ND 58502-5520
Phone: (701) 328-5150  
Fax: (701) 328-5200

Karl Rockeman (krockeman@nd.gov)
NPDES Program Manager
North Dakota Department of Health / Division of Water Quality
918 E. Divide Ave.
4th Floor
Bismarck, ND 58501-1947
Phone: (701) 328-5525  


OHIO

Paul Novak (paul.novak@epa.state.oh.us)
Manager
Ohio Environmental Protection Agency / Division of Surface Water / Permits and Compliance Section
PO Box 1049
122 South Front St
Columbus, OH 43216-1049
Phone: (614) 644-2035  


OKLAHOMA

John Craig (jon.craig@deq.state.ok.us)
Director
Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality / Water Quality Division
707 N Robinson
PO Box 1677
Oklahoma City, OK 73101-1677
Phone: (405) 702-8100  


PENNSYLVANIA

Ronald Furlan (rfurlan@pa.gov)
Planning and Permitting Chief
Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection / Bureau of Point and Non-Point Source Management
400 Market St
PO Box 8774, Rachel Carson State Office Bldg, 11th floor
Harrisburg, PA 17105-8774
Phone: (717) 787-8184  
Fax: (717) 772-5156


PUERTO RICO

Jeff Gratz (gratz.jeff@epa.gov)
Chief
US EPA, Region 02 / Water Compliance Branch / Point and Non-Point Source Control Section
290 Broadway
24th Floor
New York, NY 10007-1866
Phone: (212) 637-3873  
Fax: (212) 637-3887

Stephen Venezia (venezia.stephen@epa.gov)
US EPA, Region 02 (Permitting Authority for Puerto Rico)
290 Broadway
New York, NY 10007-1866
Phone: (212) 637-3856  
Fax: (212) 637-3891


RHODE ISLAND

Angelo Liberti (angelo.liberti@dem.ri.gov)
Chief
Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management / Office of Water Resources
235 Promenade St
Providence, RI 02908-5767
Phone: (401) 222-4700 x7225  
Fax: (401) 222-6177


SOUTH CAROLINA

Alton Boozer (boozerac@columb32.dhec.state.sc.us)
Bureau Chief
South Carolina Department of Health & Environmental Control / Bureau of Water
2600 Bull St
Columbia, SC 29201-1706
Phone: (803) 898-4259  


SOUTH DAKOTA

Albert Spangler (albert.spangler@state.sd.us)
Team Leader
South Dakota Department of Environment & Natural Resources / Surface Water Quality Program
Joe Foss Building
523 East Capitol Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501-3182
Phone: (605) 773-3351  
Fax: (605) 773-5286


TENNESSEE

Paul Davis (pedavis@mail.state.tn.us)
Director
Tennessee Department of Environment & Conservation / Division of Water Pollution Control
401 Church St.
6th Floor, L&C Annex
Nashville, TN 37243-1534
Phone: (615) 532-0625  


TEXAS

Chris Linendoll (clinendo@tceq.state.tx.us)
Manager
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality / Wastewater Permitting Section
PO Box 13087
(MC-148)
Austin, TX 78711-3087
Phone: (512) 239-4433  

Charles Maguire (charles.maguire@tceq.texas.gov)
Director
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality / Water Quality Division
PO Box 13087
(MC-145)
Austin, TX 78711-3087
Phone: (512) 239-5308  
Fax: (512) 239-4430

Jaya Zyman-Ponebshek (jzymanpo@tceq.texas.gov)
Assistant Director
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality / Water Quality Division
PO Box 13087
(MC-145)
Austin, TX 78711-3087
Phone: (512) 239-2012  
Fax: (512) 239-4430


UTAH

John Whitehead (jwhitehead@utah.gov)
Assistant Director
Utah Department of Environmental Quality / Division of Water Quality
PO Box 144870
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4870
Phone: (801)-538-4314  


VERMONT

Pete LaFlamme (pete.laflamme@state.vt.us)
Director
Watershed Management Division
103 S Main St 10 North
Waterbury, VT 05671-0408
Phone: (802) 338-4887  
Fax: (802) 338-4890


VIRGIN ISLANDS

David Alvaro Simon, M.S.M.E., P.E. (david.simon@dpnr.gov.vi)
Environmental Program Manager
Virgin Islands Department of Planning and Natural Resources / Environmental Protection Division / Water Pollution Control Program
8100 Lindberg Bay, Ste. 61
Cyril E. King Airport Terminal Building, 2nd Floor
St. Thomas, VI 00802
Phone: (340) 774-3320  
Fax: (340) 714-9549


VIRGINIA

Frederick Cunningham (frederick.cunningham@deq.virginia.gov)
Virginia Department of Environmental Quality / Office of Water Permits & Compliance Assistance
629 E. Main St.
PO Box 1105
Richmond, VA 23219
Phone: (804) 698-4285  
Fax: (804) 698-4032


WASHINGTON

Kelly Susewind (kelly.susewind@ecy.wa.gov)
Program Manager
Washington Department of Ecology / Water Quality Program
PO Box 47600
Olympia, WA 98504-7600
Phone: (360) 407-6405  


WEST VIRGINIA

Yogesh Patel, P.E. (yogesh.p.patel@wv.gov)
Assistant Director
West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection / Division of Water and Wastewater Management / Permitting Section
601 57th St. SE
Charleston, WV 25304-2345
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x1014  
Fax: (304) 926-0496


WISCONSIN

Paulette Harder
Director
Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources / Bureau of Wastewater Management
PO Box 7921
Madison, WI 53707-7921
Phone: (608) 266-3910  


WYOMING

John Wagner (jwagner@state.wy.us)
Administrator
Wyoming Department of Environmental Quality / Water Quality Division
122 W. 25th St.
Herschler Building, 4th Floor West
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Phone: (307) 777-7781  

 

[Back to Top]

 

National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Home

NPDES Permit Program Basics Information
Recent Additions

FAQs

Publications

Regulations

Training & Meetings

Links

Contacts

 
 Register to Receive NPDES News Alerts!  

You will need Adobe Reader to view some of the files on this page. Files are best viewed in Internet Explorer and Adobe 8.0 or higher. See EPA's PDF page to learn more.

 

Office of Water | Office of Wastewater Management | Disclaimer | Search EPA

Begin Site Footer

EPA Home | Privacy and Security Notice | Contact Us

Last updated on February 19, 2014 1:22 PM
URL:http://cfpub1.epa.gov/npdes/contacts.cfm